Skip to content

Soap Bubbles

November 3, 2011

A few weeks ago, I took the kids to a Yoga class.  Parents are encouraged to not stay and watch (which I totally support; it distracts the kids).

I went downstairs to the waiting area. I opened my laptop to write and discovered a dead battery (and also discovered no power cord). I sighed and searched for my trusty paper and pen. Once I located them, I wrote the old way. I still love writing with pen and paper–the sound of my Uni-ball scratch-scratch-scratching at the thick paper wraps me in a  meditative state. After about 20 minutes, my notebook held some lovely thick, black lines tracing the inner-workings of my mind.

At 5:30, I went back upstairs to retrieve the kids. They were still finishing up their class, so I stealthily peered in through the window. I watched Henry and Abby relax into Savasana; their mats lay next to each other and they lay atop their mats.

I watched as Abby reached her hand between the two mats, feeling for Henry’s hand. I watched as Abby’s hand found its target. I watched as Henry’s hand opened and their hands joined. I stared, quite dumbfounded.

Through misty eyes, I fumbled for my phone. I felt through my pockets, through my gym bag. Oh quick, hurry Denise, find your phone get the Camera up and capture the moment before its gone.

I finally found it. I snapped the picture, through the thick glass window:

Just seconds later, their teacher turned off the lights.

Earlier this week, a friend and I talked about those moments, these moments, that catch us unaware. They float up like soap bubbles, luminescent and shiny, comingling with the sun’s rays.  I often gasp at the simplistic beauty of a bubble–it surprises me time and time again. I watch it, willing it to stay. But inevitably, the purpley, translucent sphere floats away.  The only thing left is the gossamer memory of its short tenure, traces of its diaphanous grace.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2011 1:06 pm

    Oh, dear this was gorgeous. I had a similar personal experience with yoga. I must get back to it. Thank you, thank you for sharing this and reigniting that intimacy with peace.

  2. November 3, 2011 2:06 pm

    denise this is so beautiful! On a day when I fear my boys will rip each others noses off, I needed this reminder of gentle soap bubblle moments.

  3. November 3, 2011 5:13 pm

    Lovely, lovely, lovely. I would bawl if I observed that (unlikely given that they seem hellbent on killing each other right now) and I’m so grateful that you captured it – both in the picture but also, and perhaps more importantly, in your words, here. xox

  4. November 3, 2011 6:17 pm

    Yes, that’s exactly what it is like. Exactly!

    Thank you, Denise, for capturing this and bringing it to us.

    XOXO

  5. November 3, 2011 8:04 pm

    you write so frequently about finding a way to be in the moment…look at how you have taught your children to be in the moment. what a gift you are giving them and you will tell them this story time and time again to remind them that they really do indeed love each other and need each other.

  6. November 5, 2011 12:36 am

    This gives me hope. That is all, and it is everything.

Give me your grit.

