Skip to content

Blessings

December 25, 2011

Stopping. Seeing. Absorbing.

After washing some dishes recently, I glanced at my paper whites, pushing through the rich soil, tenacious as always.

Those life-giving drops of water mesmerized me.

*

Hands at work. The amazing thing about this particular activity is that I let the mess be. I didn’t try to clean us out of the moment–I let the floured-covered work surface, sprinkles and colored sugar just be. I stayed right there. The urge to clean-tidy-and-whizz-about tried to take over. But I gave it a swift kick–I stopped and appreciated the creativity of my children and the momentary suspension of chaos.

*

Shadows.

*

“We set the pace.

But this press of time–

take it as a little thing

next to what endures.

“All this hurrying 

soon will be over.

Only when we tarry

do we touch the holy.

– Rainer Maria Rilke

Tarrying today to touch the holy. Blessings to you and yours.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 25, 2011 2:26 pm

    back at ya!

  2. December 26, 2011 12:45 am

    Such beautiful moments you describe here. And I love that quote. Haven’t heard it. Beautiful, beautiful. xoxox

  3. December 26, 2011 7:11 pm

    Love these moments Denise. And that quote is exquisite. So much truth in those words. Happy Holidays to you and yours. xoxo

  4. December 28, 2011 12:01 pm

    “The suspension of chaos.”

    Even if only for a short time, it’s so nourishing to give that gift to ourselves and our families.

    Wishing you a wonderful holiday season.

Trackbacks

  1. An Ordinary New Year « universalgrit

Give me your grit.

