Skip to content

Self Care, Reducing the Chaos & Connecting with Your Kids

March 1, 2012

I received an email from my dear friend and talented life coach, Rita Hyland. In it, she asks her clients these questions:

Is your day hectic? (Um, YES.)

Do you run from juggling work, relationships, parenting, and to whatever else life throws at you from the moment you get up until the moment you put the kids to bed?   (Still nodding.)

Would you like to know what it takes to manage your day and create more peace in your home while having a more connected relationship with your children? (Fo Sho.)

I identified with all of these questions.  I often wonder how to meet the needs of my family while meeting my own needs.  How do I fill myself up while filling them up, too?

Rita is interviewing Cathy Cassani Adams next week, on Wednesday, March 7 in a special teleseminar.  Cathy is a Licensed Clinical Social Worker, Certified Parent Coach, author, business owner, Blogger for Chicago Parent and parent of three young children.  Rita and Cathy are going to discuss balancing priorities, paths to peace, self-care, and self prioritization. They’ll be taking questions from the audience.

So I started thinking. What questions would I ask? What questions would you ask?

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 4, 2012 5:10 pm

    I had half a post written today on a recent experience and conversation with a Life Coach – but I got sidetracked by the need to rant on contraceptive concerns (*sigh*)… The more things change, the more they stay the same – at least, so it seems.

    But on the “change” side of the equation, in reading this post you’ve written, and thinking about our many types of Life Coaches, Professional Coaches, Parenting Coaches, and so on… the very fact that we need these professionals signals a serious set of social problems.

    We all know what they are – we can name them. And I for one am grateful that qualified, credentialed coaches are able to assist us. But I can’t help but recognize that we continue to spawn band-aid professions and industries to help us survive systemic, complex root problems. And in trying to fight our own sense of helplessness, we appreciatively nod and take whatever assist we can (coaching, pharmaceuticals, virtual communities) – and they are valuable – but we’re no closer to addressing the serious issues that plague these times.

    What we expect of women now – what we expect of ourselves – is virtually impossible without taking a very high toll.

Give me your grit.

