Skip to content

Summer

July 24, 2012

Our summer has been full of adventure. Both good and bad, as life always presents. I’ve been thinking a lot, photographing a lot but definitely not writing a lot. I miss my writing time but know the written word and I will convene again.

For now, I’m absorbing the moments that life presents. From Midwestern summer camp, a gorgeous farm in the Hudson Valley to the Jersey Shore (no Situations or Snookis to be seen), we’re devouring summer. Traveling by car and fueling myself with vast amounts of McDonald’s Magic Diet Coke (with sides of salty fries), I’m sitting with all that a lot of together time reveals. This time with my children is simultaneously magical and frustrating. One minute I’m wishing a sun-kissed moment, set again a royal blue sky, will never end. In the next, frustrations flare like a blistering sunburn.

In our cozy rental, kids are put to sleep in tiny twin beds nestled into one postage-stamp-sized room. Then, they drift off to the sounds of loud bursts of adult laughter and  hushed conversations. When the sun taps their window at 5:45 am, they tap my elbow and smile through tired eyes and pinked cheeks. When they rise from their beds and swing their legs over the edge, their feet pick up the sand they left the night before. Breakfasts are eaten and bags are packed and we head off to the beach once more. We challenge the waves in the Atlantic, read and play Yahtzee. We tell stories and lay the foundation for new ones.

Following are some of the images that spoke to me during our travels. I wonder which ones will speak to my children; I wonder which tidbits from these trips will stick on their memory’s ribs and rise years from now as they sit around tables, crafting stories by candle light, as their children sleep in rooms just a second away.

An 1800’s barn

:::

Enviable cabbage

:::

Stunning vista

:::

A table set for eating and remembering

:::

A cow and his friends

:::

Ocean swell. Heart swell.

:::::

Linking up with Heather’s Just Write. Because that’s just what I did this morning. And it felt goooooood.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2012 12:37 pm

    Lovely…. I have many versions of that last picture and I love each one. Facing out, facing the waves, the future, the unknown. Together. xox

  2. July 24, 2012 3:09 pm

    Love that you’ve filled your summer with goodness. Keep enjoying!

  3. July 24, 2012 9:57 pm

    Oh my word. Your word(s), I should say. So lovely. I FELT summer while I read this. You’re a good good writer, Goose.

  4. July 24, 2012 11:10 pm

    I can so relate!

  5. July 25, 2012 10:31 am

    “Ocean swell. Heart swell.” I swell.

  6. Meg Ferron permalink
    July 26, 2012 10:34 am

    apparently some summer memories are indeed, universal. I can relate on all levels to this piece. safe travels literally and metaphorically

  7. August 2, 2012 6:43 pm

    Lovely, lovely, lovely. Especially that heart swell.

Give me your grit.

