Skip to content

This

August 20, 2012

Sunday morning dawned cool with an subtle autumnal undercurrent. Hubby and I were tired–caffeine was in order. Pajamas were discarded and cozy, hooded clothes were donned. We climbed into our 1976, topless, yellow Land Cruiser and headed to Dunkin Donuts for iced coffees and munchkins.

My mom was in town, so she sat shot-gun with Hubs. Abby, Henry and I sat in the back. Abby’s blond hair whipped around her lightly browned face. Both kids rode with their faces up, watching the cloud-dappled sky and green, bushy tree-tops whiz by, intrigued by how different the drive appears without a roof.

From my (illegal)  perch on the dirty floor of the back of the truck, as my kids looked up, I looked down.

This.

This,

I mused,

is a moment I will someday miss.

I snapped a shot. I hope that this photograph always elicits the whip of the wind and the ordinary magic of all these summery, flip-flop clad feet happily, cozily nested together.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2012 9:35 pm

    This was so beautiful. Will you adopt me? Such a great photo too!!

    xoxo

  2. Dair Brown permalink
    September 7, 2012 3:39 pm

    *This* is absolutely beautiful. My favorite one so far!

Give me your grit.

