Skip to content

The Barn

January 28, 2013

 Sometimes, life serves up moments that are, indeed, perfect. Pristine. Not perfect days, mind you. Just a moment here and there that fills me and leaves me feeling lit from within. This weekend the kids and I headed north to my cousin’s farm for ice skating on the pond. I now have a treasure chest full of luminescent memories.   We all love being there. I stop about every 20 minutes and say, “Can you believe how breathtaking this all is?” This weekend was no different. The mountain, the animals, the baby goat, family, sunsets and ice skating.

(The moments that occurred before and after these photos:

Sweating in the sporting goods store because I’m dressed for the frigid 10 degrees outside, searching for used skates for Abby and me, frustration percolating in my chest because I’m hot and we’d tried on 20 pairs of skates and I’m just ready to get on the road already.

We finally have ice-skate success and get on the road when Abby has to go to the bathroom 22 minutes after we just went.

Henry saying that yes he’d watch Ratatouille on the trusty minivan DVD player and then, with Sybil-like efficiency, deciding half-way through that no, in fact, he did NOT agree to watch Ratatouille. Abby getting really, really torqued with Henry and a blowup ensues.

A big, red underground pimple nestled between my wrinkles.

A sinus infection.)

As if I need a reminder that  life is not Rockwellian. Uh, No. But, sometimes, the moments in-between are pretty darn close.

2013-01-26_16-43-04_183

Path to the barn after skating (it was time to make the chicken dumpling stew).

:::

2013-01-27_11-42-52_689

The kids ice skating.

:::

2013-01-27_08-23-05_89

View of the barn from the frozen pond, decorated with our ice skate’s patterns.

:::

2013-01-27_08-21-52_669

Frozen me. (Still thawing, two days later.)

:::

2012-12-16_09-53-41_632

Smiling goat.

:::

2012-12-16_09-54-36_40

Sweet barn mate, Cantante.

:::

“Instructions for living a life.

Pay attention.

Be astonished.

Tell about it.”

– Mary Oliver

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2013 11:56 am

    Growing up in North Dakota, I remember the thrill (and the chill!) of skating on that ice!

  2. Jennifer Stack permalink
    January 28, 2013 2:10 pm

    My muscles are a little sore after 2 days of fun on the ice. Thanks for the memories and muscle aches!

  3. January 28, 2013 4:38 pm

    Love, love, love. Just love. As you know, I’m astonished every day. xoxo

  4. January 28, 2013 5:53 pm

    I love how grateful you are. Always. The sinus infection would have done me in. These are beautiful photos. Thank you!!

  5. January 28, 2013 6:58 pm

    You are a brave soul, it was so darn frigid these last few days! but I can tell it was worth it 🙂

  6. Marie Dwyer permalink
    January 28, 2013 7:39 pm

    Idyllic. Eloquent. My eyes grew greener with each photo!

  7. January 29, 2013 3:21 pm

    This is great! I did the same with my boys over the holidays at my sister’s Xmas tree farm. It was a Currier & Ives print, replete with our new black lab:) It’s food for the soul, isn’t it?

  8. February 5, 2013 7:41 am

    The moments in between, indeed.

    {This is beyond lovely.}

Give me your grit.

