Skip to content

Breathing Room

April 29, 2013

Often times, I don’t realize I’m on a writing break until about two weeks in. Then, with a start, I’ll think back to the last time I wrote. That time seems fuzzy, distant, faint. Then, I’ll try think of something new to write.

 

 

**Crickets.**

 

 

 

And then, I’ll realize I’m on hiatus.

I’ll be back. For now, I’ll leave you with this excerpt from Jena Strong ‘s luminous memoir, don’t miss this. These words soothe like my mother’s cool hand on my furrowed brow. I’ve read them over and over and over again:

 

What If?

What if you knew

that everything was going to be okay,

that something was in motion 

beyond your field of vision,

beyond even the periphery

of your knowing?

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2013 2:42 pm

    Love this … loved everything about Jena’s book, and these words are PERFECT now. xox

  2. April 29, 2013 5:16 pm

    Love this.

    I hope your break soothes your soul.

    xo

  3. Meg Ferron permalink
    April 30, 2013 5:54 am

    Up bright and early this morning and I have actually been awake much longer…I certainly wish I had gotten out of bed to read these words rather than stew and brew and toss and turn. These are getting printed and stored in my wallet. I appreciate you sharing.

  4. May 1, 2013 3:01 pm

    I clicked on your name in the comment section on Lisa Bonchek Adams’ post, The Still of the Evening. Your name title caught my eye~ universal grit. Brilliant name for you blog. I clicked and I got here. I read your post. Taking a break. Good for you.
    But on your way out you left the light on via the above poem, What If? Salve. Salve for a hurting soul. I don’t know if everything will be okay. I am dealing with cancer. I could use some grit, and I could use some “okay”.
    Thanks for leaving the light on.
    (Here is a bit of my story- http://paulblais.blogspot.com/2013/04/the-question-why.html)

  5. May 14, 2013 11:36 pm

    xo

  6. July 8, 2013 4:34 pm

    Thinking of you during your hiatus and feeling like Jena’s words that you share here might be particularly soothing to you right now. Big hugs to you, my dear. xo

Give me your grit.

